Community Steering Committee Welcomes 3 New Members

The Prosperity Now Community is guided by a 12-person Community Steering Committee whose members serve a two-year term with an option to renew once. Committee members give advice on the structure, offerings and overall direction of the Community. They also provide Prosperity Now’s audience—our network members, state and local leaders, and people who use our resources—a channel for voicing their needs, experiences and concerns. We use this invaluable feedback to improve how we serve our national Community.  

With the rolling off of Woody Widrow of RAISE Texas (statewide) and Haidee Cabusora of The Financial Clinic (NYC) at the end of 2018, and the earlier departure of Mohan Kanungo with Mission Asset Fund (San Francisco, CA) due to his job transition to a different sector, there were three open positions to fill on the Committee.  

We are excited to welcome Laura D’Alessandro of the Local Initiatives Support Corporation (national), Carlos David Garcia of Neighborhood Partnerships (Portland, OR), and Kate Larose with the Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity (Burlington, VT). This election cycle brings us our first-ever national Committee member! We are looking forward to testing this new type of partnership with another national intermediary to see how we may better connect and leverage our two national networks. Learn more about the nine other current Community Steering Committee members

Prosperity Now’s Field Engagement Team, which manages the Committee, solicited nominations from our 93 Community Champions this year, leading to the nomination of eight candidates. Ideal candidates work in our field, have demonstrated a commitment to racial wealth equity, bring experience with advocacy, share an interest in informing a national vision, and add to the diversity of backgrounds and perspectives within the Committee. The Field Engagement Team engaged the current members of the Committee in a vote to elect the three new members from the eight-candidate pool. 

Want to learn more about our Community Champions and get in touch with them? Explore our Community Champions page.

Related Content